United We Stand Speaker

Caroline Spencer is an average woman who decided she wanted to push herself to extreme limits. She started running in high school and had little interest in it. She wasn’t good at track, but she thought running was easy, so she decided to keep with it. She started with “simple” 5Ks and 10Ks and eventually through the years worked her way up to 100 MILE races and Iron Man Triathlons. She has completed more runs than I want to count and has established herself as an inspiration for many.

I’m not going to lie, while sitting in the room during her presentation, I was confused as to where she was going with it. It was cool because she explained all of her stories about these huge races and all of her struggles while enduring these challenges — but there were no tips or pointers on how to get to that level or even where to start.

That’s where I realized that wasn’t the point of this. The point of the event is to prove that you can go to extremes with anything you want regardless of who you are, as long as you have the courage and hardheadedness to do it. I see a lot of these similar traits in my mom, and although she hasn’t quite accomplished the same stuff, she has worked her butt of to be where she is today.

As somebody who hates working out, both cardio and weights, the simple message hit that if I want to get started, I just have to do it. This was a personal identity development for me that will stick for a while.

Unfortunately Caroline doesn’t have a website, but if you want more information on the presentation, please come talk to me about it and I can help you out with that.

